
MARRIAGE LICENSE INFORMATION 
 

The following information is required in order to obtain a marriage license in 
KNOX COUNTY, Nebraska:  
 
1. MARRIAGE WORKSHEET:  Complete ALL information on the Marriage 
Worksheet.    There is no waiting period between applying for the marriage license 
and getting married.  There is no blood test requirement in Nebraska.  PLEASE 
PROVIDE YOUR PHONE NUMBERS AT THE TOP OF THE WORKSHEET.  
 
2.  APPLYING:  Both applicants must complete their portions of the Marriage 
Worksheet.  A couple may apply for their license in any county in Nebraska and 
use it to be married in any other Nebraska county.  Both applicants must be at 
least 17 years of age. If either applicant is under 17 years of age, a license cannot 
be issued in the State of Nebraska.  
 
3. IDENTIFICATION REQUIREMENTS:  Both applicants MUST provide one form 
of unexpired photo identification.  Acceptable forms of photo identification are a 
valid driver’s license from any of the 50 states, a State ID card, a U.S. Passport, a 
U.S. Military card, or a Foreign Passport. Identification must be in English or must 
have a certified translation attached.  If you have had your name legally changed, 
please also include documentation.  Proof of citizenship or immigration status is 
neither relevant nor required.  
 

Note: Statute 42-104 states "Each party shall present satisfactory 
          documentary proof and shall swear or affirm to the application giving:  

(1) Full name of each applicant and residence; and (2) the place,  
         date and year of birth of each."  

It is customary in this office to require a photo ID as "satisfactory documentary  
proof" of identity, such as a Driver's License, State ID, or Passport.  A birth  
certificate by itself cannot positively establish identity.  

 
4. MINORS: For applicants 17 or 18 years of age, a Consent Form needs to be 
completed by the minor’s parent or legal guardian in the presence of a Notary 
Public. The Consent to Minor’s Marriage form is available on the Knox County 
website at www.co.knox.ne.us or you may call the Knox County Clerk’s office at 
402-288-5604 and one can be sent to you.   Minors must provide a copy of their 
certified birth certificate. 
 
5. PARENTS’ INFORMATION: We will need parents’ FULL names (first, middle 
and last name, as well as maiden name for mothers), along with city and state 
or foreign country of their birth.  



 
6. SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER:  Applicants must supply their Social Security 
numbers.  If the applicant does not have a Social Security number, then the 
applicant must sign an affidavit.   If an affidavit is needed, please call the Knox 
County Clerk’s office at 402-288-5604 and an affidavit will be sent to you.  
 
7. PREVIOUS MARRIAGE: If either party has been married before, we will need 
to know how the marriage ended (death, dissolution or annulment) and on what 
date it ended. If the marriage ended in dissolution, you must provide the date that 
the Decree of Dissolution was signed by the Judge.   If either applicant was 
divorced in Nebraska, the couple must wait six months after the divorce decree is 
final to remarry in the State of Nebraska.  Other state laws may apply if divorced 
outside of Nebraska.   
 
8. FEE: The Marriage License fee is $25.00 plus $9.00 for a Certified Copy, for a 
total of $34.00. 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 


